Welcome to Lectures by Jan De Loecker and Kalina Manova, 12.3.2024

We would like to invite you to the

Yrjö Jahnsson Award in Economics -Lectures

Speakers are Award Winners of 2023

Professor Jan De Loecker (KU Leuven) and 
Professor Kalina Manova (University College London)

on Tuesday, 12 March 2024, at 13:00 – 16:00
at Aalto University Executive Education and Professional Development,
Osipow hall, Runeberginkatu 14–16, 00100 Helsinki


13:00 – 13:05  Opening words

13:05 – 14:20  Kalina Manova
Global Innovation with Global Firms

14:20 – 14:40  Coffee Break

14:40 – 15:55  Jan De Loecker
Estimating markups using production and demand data

15:55 – 16:00  Closing words


Lectures are open for all. Places are filled in order of registration.
RSVP by 1 March 2024.


Jan De Loecker

Jan De Loecker is Professor of Economics at the KU Leuven, a Fellow of the Econometric Society, Research Associate at the NBER and a Research Fellow at the CEPR. He was on the faculty at NYU from 2006-2008, before moving to Princeton University, where he was on the full-time faculty from 2008-2017 (tenured 2014-2017). He was a visiting faculty at Yale University and Stanford University. He specializes in the areas of industrial organization, international economics and development economics.

His research is centered around measuring, and identifying the drivers of firm performance. In particular, he has put forward empirical frameworks to estimate productivity, marginal costs and markups, using micro-level production data. These methods have been used to study the role of technology, market power, international competition, in shaping the performance of individual producers, and industries and economies at large.

In 2016, he was awarded with an Odysseus Research Grant from the Flemish Research Council, and in 2019 he obtained a Consolidator ERC Grant for the project MPOWER. In 2023 he was awarded Yrjö Jahnsson Award.

De Loecker has advised various corporations, institutions and international agencies (such as World Bank, and various national and central banks) on productivity and firm performance measeurement, on the impact of the trade/industrial policy on growth.

Kalina Manova

Kalina Manova is Professor of Economics at UCL, where she specializes in international trade and investment and served as Deputy Department Head in 2020-2023. She was previously Assistant Professor at Stanford, Visiting Assistant Professor at Princeton, and Professor at Oxford. She serves on the Investment Committee of the European Economic Association and previously on its Council and Executive Committee. She also serves on the editorial boards of Review of Economic Studies, American Economic Journal: Economic Policy, and previously Journal of International Economics. She is Research Fellow at the Centre for Economic Policy Research, Associate at the LSE Centre for Economic Performance, Research Affiliate at the International Growth Centre, and Affiliate at CESifo Institute. She has been External Consultant at Bank of England and Inter-American Development Bank.

Professor Manova has received the EEA Yrjö Jahnsson Award, the Philip Leverhulme Prize in Economics, a 5-year €1.5M Consolidator Grant from the European Research Council, a 3-year £750K ESRC Governance After Brexit Grant, and the Excellence Award in Global Economic Affairs from the Kiel Institute for World Economy. Her work has been recognized with a Kenen Fellowship in International Economics at Princeton and a National Fellowship at the Hoover Institution at Stanford.

Professor Manova’s research explores three themes in international economics: (i) global value chains and firm production networks; (ii) financial frictions in international trade and investment; and (iii) firm productivity, quality, and management practices.

Yrjö Jahnsson Award in Economics

In 1993 the Yrjö Jahnsson Foundation established a biennial award for a European economist no older than 45 years old who has made a contribution in theoretical and applied research that is significant to economics in Europe. The European Economic Association (EEA) cooperates with the Yrjö Jahnsson Foundation in the selection of the award winners.

Yrjö Jahnssonin säätiö sr 2024 © Kaikki oikeudet pidätetään.

Yrjö Jahnssonin säätiö sr 2024 ©
Kaikki oikeudet pidätetään.